Support me on my journey in Central Europe

SAM_1891

It is with great excitement that I have accepted the opportunity to serve as a Young Adult in Global Mission volunteer in Central Europe (Hungary) starting in August. I will be one of more than 95 young adults serving on behalf of the ELCA in 11 different country programs around the world! Volunteers serve in schools, NGOs and social service ministries. Particularly, a portion of my placement will be working with the Roma population in Hungary.

As part of accepting this call, I am asked to raise at least $5,000 toward the cost of supporting me this year. Ultimately it costs $15,000 to support each volunteer for a year. That averages out to just under $50 a day. Would you be willing to support me for a day? You choose the day and I will make sure to send you a postcard on that day! If you can’t afford the $50 for a day, any little bit still helps.

Please help me reach my goal by supporting my fundraising efforts with a donation today. All donations are tax deductible. Through your donation, you join me on this journey as I grow in my own faith and walk in partnership with our global companions. I am thrilled to think about the ways in which this year will form and transform me.

Donate now at http://support.elca.org/goto/krista.

Thank you for joining me and for your support – every gift truly matters!

About Young Adults in Global Mission

The ELCA’s Young Adults in Global Mission program provides young adults, ages 21-29, the opportunity to grow in their faith and work in partnership with our global companions. Young adults in the program serve in churches, schools and social service ministries. Currently the program is engaged in work in Argentina/Uruguay, Australia, Cambodia, Central Europe, Jerusalem/West Bank, Madagascar, Mexico, Rwanda, Senegal, Southern Africa and the United Kingdom.

The total cost for one young adult in the program is $15,000. Each young adult is tasked with raising a minimum of $5,000 to help support their year of service. The ELCA commits to raising the additional $10,000 per volunteer through generous congregations and donors. If more than $5,000 in gifts is received, the additional funds will help to support other young adult volunteers and ensure that there is a sustainable source of revenue for future the Young Adults in Global Mission program. All donations are tax deductible.

Leave a comment